Let's Begin

Let's Begin!

This message is for my future self, and for anyone else who may stumble upon it. Today is the day when I finally got off my butt and stopped talking about creating content, and finally started doing it. At this moment, I am excited about this new path of learning, building, and sharing for anyone who might be lost and would find my content helpful and able to assist them.

A Little About Myself

I graduated in December of 2020 with a degree in Computer Information Systems (CIS). After graduation, I secured a role as a web development manager primarily working with Drupal. Before this role, most of my experience was working the front-end with some knowledge of the back-end. Now my new role consists of learning and focusing on all the many different aspects of a website. This includes everything from the design, front-end, back-end, Dev Ops, to everything else that encompasses a fully functioning website.

In some moments it's been a challenge when there is an issue since I am the only one in the web development role for my company. Not having this technical assistance and guidance has pushed me to find different communities and mentors to help assist me with solving, talking, and making sure that I am producing the best code and solutions for my company.

When I started this position, I knew that if I took everything on by myself it would put me in tough spots, as my career was just beginning. I realize there is no weakness in asking for help and that asking others for help will give you the strength to learn and grow.

What Will My Focus Be

My main focus for my content will not be limited to only one topic, rather it will be a blend of all the different topics and problems I will run into.

To start, most of my content will be revolved around Drupal and all the many things that can go into this powerful CMS. The beauty of working with Drupal is I get the chance to learn and use client-side languages (HTML, CSS, JavaScript) to a server-side language such as PHP. As well as growing my abilities with Mysql, whether that is querying data or managing the health of the database, and learning how to work with

Although my work is mainly focused on Drupal, my personal projects will not be, and as of right now I am not sure what I want to learn personally. All I know is that I will find, build, and document whatever it is those future projects will be.

My Goal

Eventually, I want to move into possibly creating videos on my content but I thought written documentation would be the most beneficial for me right now. I believe, spending the time to learn how to document my development issues to my solutions will only help me become a better developer. I hope to help others by providing a possible solution to potentially a similar problem.

Now, what am I going to write about next?

If you made it this far thank you for reading!